Skip website navigation | Go to website navigation

VERSION FRANCAISE

Achievements of the Islands Commission

Copyright (c)2005 by Commission des Iles

 The Islands Commission has regularly lobbied the European Commission and the European Parliament to ensure that islands and island issues are taken on board in EU legislation. Regional policy, and maritime policy such as transport, energy and the environment have traditionally been its main fields of action.


 With each successive development of the Treaty, the Islands Commission has campaigned to strengthen the provisions specifically related to the islands or which are of direct interest to them.

Under the 1997 Amsterdam Treaty, it gained the inclusion of a brief reference to the islands in Article 158 on economic and social cohesion and also the adoption of a "joint declaration" on Island Regions (Declaration 30), which acknowledges the permanent structural constraints facing islands, and accepts that, whenever necessary, specific policies may be implemented for these Regions.

In 2004, the Islands Commission led a successful campaign targeted at the European Convention and the Intergovernmental Conference to ensure that the draft Constitutional Treaty :

 i) considered territorial cohesion as one the Unionís objectives alongside economic and social cohesion,

 ii) made an explicit reference (Article III-200) to the specific situation of regions suffering from serious or permanent geographic and demographic handicaps, including the islands.

Copyright (c)2005 by Commission des Iles

 The Islands Commission has initiated technical cooperation networks such as:

 The ISLENET network, which deals with energy and environmental issues as they pertain to island communities and more specifically renewable energies, energy efficiency, smart grids, solar, biomass & biogas potential, marine energies, desalination, solid waste treatment and other technologies and policies that aim at achieving the EU 2020 climate objectives.


 

© 2005 CRPM CPMR - Website designed by IMPEC | TOONGA

Skip website navigation | Go to website navigation

ENGLISH VERSION

Les réalisations

Copyright (c)2005 by Commission des Iles

 La Commission des Iles a régulièrement fait pression auprès de la Commission européenne et du Parlement afin que les îles et les questions insulaires soient prises en considération dans la législation européenne. La politique régionale, la politique maritime, ainsi que les politiques concernant les transports, l'énergie et l'environnement sont traditionnellement ses principaux champs d'action.

 
 

 La Commission des Iles est intervenue à l'occasion des évolutions successives du Traité pour renforcer les dispositions ayant trait aux îles ou présentant un intérêt direct pour ces dernières.

En 1997, lors du Traité d'Amsterdam, elle a obtenu l'inclusion d'une référence succincte aux îles dans le cadre de l'Article 158 sur la cohésion économique et sociale, ainsi que l'adoption d'une déclaration commune sur la situation des Régions Insulaires (Déclaration N°30). Cette dernière reconnaît les contraintes structurelles permanentes subies par les îles, et admet que, en cas de besoin, des Politiques spécifiques puissent être appliquées à ces Régions.

En 2004, la Commission des Iles est intervenue avec succès auprès de la Convention européenne ainsi que de la Conférence Inter-Gouvernementale pour que le projet de Traité constitutionnel:

 considère, d'une part, la cohésion territoriale comme l'un des objectifs de
l'Union, aux côtés de la cohésion économique et sociale.

 d'autre part, fasse une référence explicite (Article III-220) à la situation particulière des territoires subissant des contraintes géographiques et démographiques sévères ou permanentes, dont les îles.

Copyright (c)2005 by Commission des Iles

 La Commission des Iles a impulsé des réseaux de coopération technique, tels que:

 le réseau ISLENET, qui s'occupe de thèmes liés à l'énergie et l'environnement dans les communautés insulaires, et plus précisément les énergies renouvelables, l'efficacité énergétique, les réseaux intelligents, le potentiel du solaire, de la biomasse et du biogaz, les énergies marines, la désalinisation, le traitement des déchets solides, et d'autres technologies et politiques visant à atteindre les objectifs de la stratégie UE 2020 en matière de climat.

 
 

 

© 2005 CRPM CPMR - Conception IMPEC | TOONGA